Undermining Africa? Gi’me a break!

September 19, 2006 at 6:52 pm 7 comments

I never read a more appaling piece of journalism.

A friend suggested that it is particularly bad on Africa as it is basically accusing Evangelicals of spreading HIV / Aids in Africa.

Of course he is reffering to the portion that reads:

“…Now End Time beliefs are now spreading to Africa, with dire consequences. Uganda’s President, Yoweri Museveni, is a born again Christian who is lionised by American End Timers. An American preacher in the capital, Kampala, says that the answers to Uganda’s problems are not political, economic or educational, but can be found in the Bible, which he describes as ‘God’s constitution for the planet’.

Newspaper editor Andrew Mwenda is appalled by these Doomsday preachers, who he believes are converting young people and diverting them from fulfilling their potential and pursuing their careers. He says: ‘This country is on a highway to hell.’

Uganda was a model in Africa of AIDS education and prevention and the rate of infection was falling. Now Museveni is promoting abstinence rather than safer sex, the number of cases is rising.Teacher Julius Othieno describes children being taken out of school, and not taking medicine when they are ill, in order to hasten their death.”

While it would certainly provide great fodder for a sharply stinging critique from my end (I’m at home with evangelicalism, though I largely have my roots in Calvin, Kuyper, Boenhoeffer, Stott, etc), I generally never want to fight some battles; and this is one of them.

Besides, am already livid with rage, having had a terrible early morning going over some biased media reports about Kenya, Somalia and Africa over a variety of issues.

Why can’t the international media (and by this I mean both Western and Arab) ever get it right about Africa and the Africans?

Am still trying to process my thoughts on this with some of my media professor friends and am not sure I’ll still want to re-play my rage on the web when I’m done.

Entry filed under: Africa, Culture, HIV / Aids, Kenya, Literature, Media, Personals, Politics, Religion, Science, Society, Uncategorized, World.

Who will build the bridges? So, where does this leave the wildlife deal?

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. A. J.  |  September 19, 2006 at 7:32 pm

    Jesse:
    When I sent you the link I was unaware that Channel 4 is actually independent of the Bebe. So–as bad as the BBC can be–they’re actually innocent in this case. Channel 4 is apparently publically owned however.

    Reply
  • 2. Kenyan Analyst  |  September 19, 2006 at 7:52 pm

    You can imagine I went headlong with it šŸ™‚ But the point is made. Thanks for the heads-up.

    Reply
  • 3. mimmz  |  September 19, 2006 at 10:02 pm

    These are the things I read and just get an overwhelming desire to bury my head in the sand. Pretend its not happening.

    About the misrepresented Africans, I personally believe they are their own worst enemies. Take for example the Kenyans who cheer at every word spoken by a foreigner and have no idea on how to build a nation by being good followers. Stamped idiots, if you ask me.

    The churches of today are a real disgrace to the real Christ. that’s the part of me that’s a Christian who does not attend church anymore because my beliefs are intact per the bible, but I abhor organized religion.

    Reply
  • 4. Kenyan Analyst  |  September 19, 2006 at 11:32 pm

    True, we have our own skeletons as the Church in Kenya and Africa but we certainly deserve some fair press. This wasn’t. But i still hear you on these matters. I so hear you.

    Reply
  • 5. toiyoi  |  September 20, 2006 at 10:31 pm

    Jesse,
    I generaly agree with Mimmz.
    Seems you have not seen what local western media does whenever thet have anything to report about Africa: Hardly ever anything good. Actually never.

    Why would you expect them to fairly represent Africans, when everyone in the world believes they(Africans) are incapable of doing things right (And they may be right, for show me a single African country that is not still in the 18th Century!)

    If you answer my Questions, you may begin to understand

    Reply
  • 6. Kenyan Analyst  |  September 20, 2006 at 10:56 pm

    Uhhmn, you raise pertinent questions there and I sure do agree that Mimmz had a valid point. But i suppose my point was that demonizing evangelicals in the manner that appears to have been the case here – i.e the HIV / Aids quiz – was totally off-key. Not that I condone some of the Church games and gymnastics we currently have in Kenya and africa in Jc’s name. Just that I yearn for keener sense of justice here. And am not expecting such to come from our Western brothers and sisters, – precisely, their media outlets.

    Reply
  • 7. A. J.  |  September 21, 2006 at 8:58 pm

    toiyoi,
    Let me take a crack at answering all of your questions in one fell swoop:
    Corruption, lack of property rights and (often stemming from these two) difficulties with even application of the rule of law.
    Fear not: Africa is not alone in having difficulty walking this line (even the West has had it’s problems with these.
    The answer:
    Free markets, clean and limited government, rule of law equally applied, facilitation of property ownership and entrepreneurship.
    There’s nothing inate, magical, even sinister here I think.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kenyan Analyst

Recent Posts

September 2006
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Feeds


