Wretched of the earth?

September 29, 2006 at 5:07 am 5 comments

I normaly sleep late and wake up kidogo late (7:00 am hivi), but on some occasions find myself up much earlier (for prayer and such).

Today I woke up kitu 4:00 am and guess what…. I found a neighbour’s house-help was still working; same chores as late last night.

I’m not sure the pay is consumerate with all the labour.

Of course the jiranis are sound asleep.

Such “small” stuff prick my conscience big time.

Whatever your station in life, if you are going to work for or with me, I’ll let you rest with the rest of humanity.

Of course unless the state has paid you to keep watch over me, for which I care less anyway.

I’m a night owl, – that’s how I survived campus and my stint in the media – but I won’t hold you to the same standard.

I wonder if domestic workers have organized themselves into anything in this country, say some organized labour movement or such?

Entry filed under: Africa, Crime, Economics, Kenya, Literature, Media, Personals, Society, World.

Random Wednesday I refuse to believe these

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. AK  |  September 29, 2006 at 2:21 pm

    KA, that’s the nightmare that some (can I say most?) maids go through. i have also seen employers who treat them with dignity and love and make them feel comfortable as part of the family.

    Largely, Kenya has some notorious ”madames” from hell!! And the “masters” behave like they were sworn to silence!

    yea, some labor union and legislation would go a long way to reform the practices. SA introduced legislation for domestic workers defining working hours, social security and minimum wages. Maybe Kenya could follow suit.

    Reply
  • 2. acolyte  |  September 29, 2006 at 3:34 pm

    I was thinking of doing a post on this sometime back and the draft is still lying in my drafts folder of my blog.
    You have said in a few words most of what I have wanted to say.It seems that we have our own serfs in Kenya who are at times treated only one step above slaves.
    You seem to have forgotten one missing key to government recognition and acknowledgement that these people dont have, money…

    Reply
  • 3. kenyananalyst  |  September 29, 2006 at 4:08 pm

    @ AK & Aco – Ditto!

    Reply
  • 4. toiyoi  |  October 1, 2006 at 7:16 am

    I would say this:
    While the world may lord it over others (employess, maids, etc), i hope no one that calls upon the name of the Lord will be found guilty of this kind of (sin?) heartlessness. if you do, then how can the love of God dwell in you?

    For the rest: Legislation would be good. KA, guys, it is individuals that change systems, do you guyd not know an MP to bring such a motion?

    Reply
  • 5. Larry Mads  |  October 3, 2006 at 3:31 pm

    It is deplorable really the amount of work these poor people do and the kind of wages they get. For working technically the whole day yet getting just Ksh 1500, its barely legal.

    There has to be more from the government over regulations of this ‘industry’ If not so, it is inhumane what they have to go through each day to earn an honest living.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kenyan Analyst

Recent Posts

September 2006
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Feeds


