In response: “Why I support Wiccanism”

November 8, 2006 at 7:59 pm 3 comments

By IVAN RICHMOND

As a Wiccan myself, I’d like to respond to this.

First of all, it wasn’t for anything lacking in Christianity that I became a Wiccan. I believe that all Deities are One. Wicca is a good religion for someone who believes that.

Secondly, much of Wicca as I’ve seen it is about using meditation and other benign mystical practices to make us better people (this is often called “magic” by Wiccans, but you have to understand what we mean by the term).

Third, far from being dangerous, Wicca is extraordinarily benign. Sanders omits one basic tenet of ethics in Wicca, “an it harm none, do as thou wilt”. This must be explained, since it has a special meaning in Wicca. It means that each one of us should figure out why we were put on Earth. This is our True Will.

The purpose of life is to enact our True Will while avoiding harm to others. This summerizes many ethics, like not killing people. I and all the Wiccans I’ve met are generally good people because of this ethic that we try to follow. One result of this is that we’d never do something like “curse” people or use voodoo dolls. If some teenagers are doing things like that, they don’t understand our ethics.

I think Sanders is a wolf in sheep’s clothing. While one moment playing the compassion card, the next she describes Wicca as “dangerous” when in fact my religion encourages us to avoid harm to others.

I can’t speak for people who had “bad experiences”, but every religion has problematic congregations. As Wiccan clergy, I was trained to make sure that congregants have positive experiences. Any religion can be manipulated, in the hands of bad people, to abusive ends. But, it’s against Wiccan teaching to do so.

On the other hand, we can’t help it if people come to us with anti-Wiccan biases. Maybe some of those teenagers came in with such bad biases that they tainted their own experience.

In any case, Wicca, from everything I’ve seen of it, is a great religion with a positive message: make yourself a better person, take care of the earth and try to live your life in such a way that you avoid harming others.

Entry filed under: Africa, Culture, Kenya, Literature, Media, Missions, Religion, Science, Society, World.

Barua ya wazi kwa Rais Jakaya Kikwete Good News for Democrats, Good News for Evangelicals

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katie Clark  |  November 17, 2006 at 2:21 am

    I, myself, have been a proclaimed “Wiccan” for many years. i believe more people should try and help others understand the religion as a positive religious belief. Thank you for expressing this.

    Reply
  • 2. Chris  |  November 10, 2007 at 2:11 am

    I am not sure as to what my religion is at the moment being mainly because I was raised by Catholics. But I have found more faith within discovering the wiccan religion more than my Catholic one. The thing is is that it’s all the same. It’s all one deity. It’s all on thing. And my family doesn’t seem to understand that. Which is sad. Heck, my great aunt criticized my mother for switching from Catholic to Presbyterian because that was what her husband was.
    But yeah. The wiccans, in my own opinion, seem to appreciate THIS EARTH. This earth. They love it, they take what the god and goddess has given them instead of hoping for a better earth when they die. They have shown more love than Christians and Catholics. I’m trying to search for answers and I hope your post has helped. Thank you. Blessed be.

    Reply
  • 3. telson  |  March 10, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    Very interesting article about wiccanism.

    http://koti.phnet.fi/petripaavola/wiccan.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kenyan Analyst

Recent Posts

November 2006
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Feeds


