“Adam, where are you?”

November 14, 2006 at 12:20 am 4 comments

“Life oozes out even before the best physician is aware.” – Charles H. Spurgeon, British evangelist.

That question in Genesis 3:9 was among the earliest that got me thinking about my God as a communicator.

Today, though, that question rang in my mind with a fresh urgency after I got some news from a friend.

“Hey, how r u? Just wanted 2 let u know that Adam, my bro, died jana after a serious car accident.”

It was 1:04 p.m; I couldn’t bring myself to stay faithful to my schedules for the rest of the day.

Too shocked, I couldn’t call or text back either.

What to do?

Much later in the night, I buzzed Adam’s family for a little more on what had actually happened.

“He was drunk, trying to cross a road in town last night. A car hit him. He sustained some serious head injuries. He passed on.”

I often write faster than I can talk; my silence on this one was getting much longer.

I offered to visit with the family a little later, for Adam was my friend.

I first met him in mid 2004; I was at their place on invitation by his younger sibling with whom I had become friends at a university we both attended.

Politics ranks among my most favourite of interests, so we hit off immediately on that note.

He had an intimate knowledge of the Kenyan political landscape.

But something else bound us together: Battling against the bottle and some substance abuse, he was looking for faith and some support structure in the community.

His family had done so much already in both respects; I was now offering to help him process his thoughts on faith in Christ if He would be willing.

“You are a good man,” he told me once as he grilled me on why I had ever chosen to be a follower of Christ.

I refused the designation, as I detailed my own struggles with God in this life; he listened patiently.

Once, after similar chats, he told me that he had committed his life to Christ and that his father (also a Christian) was now walking with him in that.

I didn’t touch base with him much afterwards – to my shame – till I got the news today, nearly 10 months down the road.

Adam’s family isn’t really sure whether or not he had made that all-important decision about Christ….I hope to give my perspective of things when I touch base with them some time.

I am also informed that some of my contemporaries (folks I schooled with in primary and high school, a few at the campus level) have passed on in the past few days; a good number of them for involvement in violent crime.

One of my low-points in this is that most of these folks were extremely promising (academically) but never proceeded further for lack of school fees; and there seems to be another generation of similarly deprived young people following in their footsteps.

Entry filed under: Africa, Crime, Economics, Kenya, Literature, Media, Missions, Personals, Politics, Religion, Society, World.

A Pounding at the Polls : Why Conservatives Lost From Ghana, with some great stuff (part VI)

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. olymwandishi  |  November 14, 2006 at 8:57 pm

    Pole for the loss man.

    Reply
  • 2. Amber  |  November 15, 2006 at 6:01 pm

    Pole for the loss. God in His sovreignity is in control, and even asking the family about the decision is only a vain effort to console oneself, I think, that he rests in a better place. I truly belive that there are some cases where God sorts one out, even at the very last moment, and noone else is a witness to that. And that is where our faith is tested, if we can leave it in His hands and be confident in His goodness and His mercy to us.

    Reply
  • 3. Larry  |  November 15, 2006 at 7:54 pm

    Was here, and actually read a few lines. Such a sad story, my condolences.

    Reply
  • 4. Kenyan Analyst  |  November 15, 2006 at 9:47 pm

    @ Oly – Merci.

    @ Amber – Merci.

    @ Larry – Merci.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kenyan Analyst

Recent Posts

November 2006
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Feeds


