My resolution for 2007

January 2, 2007 at 6:28 am 2 comments

Two years ago, I was priveledged to speak to some Form 4 school-leavers at Church on the trends, challenges and opportunities in the Kenyan media industry.

Afterwards, some teenager approached me seeking some time alone with me.

Tony’s was a long, teary, story, – the classic tale of abused and neglected orphans in the country, often for reasons not of their own making.

I shared my own story with him; he appeared to find some comfort in it.

He was interested in attending the same university I did for studies in the same major I had pursued, – again with a mission and vision that closely mirrored my own.

I was low on funds, so I couldn’t sponsor him.

But I shared some thoughts on possible sources of funding, prayed with him and invited him to be visiting with me once every so often for joint reflections and prayer regarding the progress of his plans.

Nothing worked out much of the time.

Another KBW member (unajijua mwenyewe, thanks for your kind efforts) joined me in trying to fundraise for the youngman, but matters were still difficult.

But I just got a text from him: Not only has God answered his / our prayers; He has done so beyond our prayers, thoughts and imaginations.

Next week, Tony will report for his orientation in readiness for classes a week later at the university and in the major he so much desired; he remains sold out to God even s he embarks on this journey.

Inspired by God’s faithfulness in young Tony’s life, my one resolution this year is to seek to constantly walk with God like Enoch of old.

He was faithful in 2006; I trust Him to remain faithful in 2007 despite my possible faithlesness and unfaithfulness.

Entry filed under: Africa, Economics, Kenya, Literature, Media, Missions, Personals, Religion, Society, World.

A prophetic word for 2007 Urbana 2006 webcasts & Ezra 2006 updates

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. acolyte  |  January 3, 2007 at 6:55 am

    That was great of you. One of my resolutions is to set up a non profit here in the states at least on paper to deal with African issues. I would like to be able to use young Kenyan graduates to do research and do the projects.
    Too many NGOs in Kenya are not doing enough. So I hope once I get started I can give other folks liek Tony a hand!
    Be blessed with your walk!

    Reply
  • 2. Kenyananalyst  |  January 3, 2007 at 5:42 pm

    Joyeuse ans 2007. Merci beacoup!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kenyan Analyst

Recent Posts

January 2007
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Feeds


