Pray, but also act!

January 14, 2007 at 6:54 pm 3 comments

A close Christian friend with whom I barbed over the nature, substance and direction of Kenyan politics in the last months of 2006 – time during which he often wondered about my “political sanity” – has finally mailed me, inviting me to join him in prayer for our country.

He says his prognosis of the state of the nation isn’t good.

Apparently we are finally coming to agree on some of the issues over which we would daily so much disagree before parting with a customary word of friendship.

One of my joys is in seeing him graciously accept that holding divergent views to his on the state of the nation doesn’t amount to hating President Kibaki or the Kikuyu community (to which, incidentally, my friend belongs).

He now says:  “Recent media reports are so chilling that we are living in daily fear for our lives and our country. From polarised politics, insecurity, floods and disease our country is in such dire need of divine intervention…. My heart goes out to the families of the 4 policemen who were killed in the line of duty. It chills to think where our country is headed with such level of crime…. When we think of the many children who will miss plcaes in Secondary Schools it just sounds like news. We have heard that for many years now but when you reflect deeply on the implications of that 10 years from now, it is a sad story worthy of all our attention….We may not do much else but Prayer is THE starting point. I challenge us to move on and write to the national dailies giving our views and opinions…There is so much else happening that if we know about we can pray together. For big and ‘small’ issues alike.”

He adds that we face such an uncertain future that we can’t help but cry out like Nehemiah:

“O LORD, God of heaven, the great and awesome God, who keeps his covenant of love with those who love him and obey his commands, let your ear be attentive and your eyes open to hear the prayer your servant is praying before you day and night for your servants, the people of Israel. I confess the sins we Israelites, including myself and my father’s house, have committed against you. We have acted very wickedly toward you. We have not obeyed the commands, decrees and laws you gave your servant Moses.\n “,1] ); //–>

“Remember the instruction you gave your servant Moses, saying, ‘If you are unfaithful, I will scatter you among the nations, but if you return to me and obey my commands, then even if your exiled people are at the farthest horizon, I will gather them from there and bring them to the place I have chosen as a dwelling for my Name.’

“They are your servants and your people, whom you redeemed by your great strength and your mighty hand. 11 O Lord, let your ear be attentive to the prayer of this your servant and to the prayer of your servants who delight in revering your name. Give your servant success today by granting him favor in the presence of this man.”

– Nehemiah 1:5-10.

While I have accepted his invitation to join the online prayer group he is running for the country, I’m tempted to rehash some of my positions on the twin questions of divine sovereignity and human responsibility.

I would that our faith and prayers be lived out in daily, responsible social action, – embracing Christ in all His wounds, pain, shame, ignorance and other aspects of vulnerability evident in the Kenyan society.

Proclamation of the Gospel and service to our society, – that’s my message to all inviting me to join them in prayer for the country – either that or we cease calling ourselves followers of the way, truth and life.

An undue emphasis on one at the expense of the other is not only foolish but also intellectually dishonest.

And the moment we cease to suffer in and with Him in the society around us, I really think we should cease to accept Him as our model of the suffering servant.

Following Christ in my generation, I believe, will mean knowing Him; knowing what He taught, lived and died for; embracing Him in the many joyous and sometimes painful faces in His world today.

Entry filed under: Africa, Crime, Economics, HIV / Aids, Kenya, Literature, Media, Missions, Personals, Politics, Religion, Society, World.

RaMoMA (Ihuoma :-) ) Icabod, – the glory isn’t here!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. XRumakTheBest  |  November 4, 2007 at 9:40 am

    XRumer Platinum Edition is the perfect program for advertisement!
    It’s have CAPTCHA recognizer, email verificator, and a lot of other functions…

    But. I forgot link to it 😦

    Can you give me link to the xrumer description? screenshots, etc.

    Thanks

    Reply
  • 2. Dodemnsem  |  March 7, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    Hello
    NICE SITE!
    GOOGLE
    Bye

    Reply
  • 3. bamafan  |  May 23, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    STOP!
    Just want to introduce myself.
    I’m fond of eating the big pack of popcorn and watching interesting movies. That’s why I have done site where ALL celebrity actresses are gathered
    Here there is my site – Celebrity Site
    Do you think that you know more celeb names than i do???
    Let’s talk about 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kenyan Analyst

Recent Posts

January 2007
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Feeds


