Archive for February 4, 2007

Wait!

*I got this as an e-mail from a pal.

Desperately, helplessly, longingly, I cried,
Quietly, patiently, lovingly God replied.
I pled and I wept for a clue to my fate,
And the Master so gently said, “Child, you must wait.”

“Wait? You say, wait! ” my indignant reply.
“Lord, I need answers, I need to know why!
Is your hand shortened? Or have you not heard?
By Faith, I have asked, and am claiming your Word.

My future and all to which I can relate
Hangs in the balance, and YOU tell me to WAIT?
I’m needing a ‘yes’, a go-ahead sign,
Or even a ‘no’ to which I can resign.

And Lord, You promised that if we believe
We need but to ask, and we shall receive.
And Lord, I’ve been asking, and this is my cry:
I’m weary of asking! I need a reply!

Then quietly, softly, I learned of my fate
As my Master replied once again, “You must wait.”
So, I slumped in my chair, defeated and taut
And grumbled to God, “So, I’m waiting … for what?”

He seemed, then, to kneel, and His eyes wept with mine,
And he tenderly said, “I could give you a sign.
I could shake the heavens, and darken the sun.
I could raise the dead, and cause mountains to run.

All you seek, I could give, and pleased you would be.
You would have what you want – But, you wouldn’t know Me.
You’d not know the depth of My love for each saint;
You’d not know the power that I give to the faint.

You’d not learn to see through the clouds of despair;
You’d not learn to trust just by knowing I’m there;
You’d not know the joy of resting in Me
When darkness and silence were all you could see.

You’d never experience that fullness of love
As the peace of My Spirit descends like a dove;
You’d know that I give and I save… (for a start),
But you’d not know the depth of the beat of My heart.

The glow of My comfort late into the night,
The faith that I give when you walk without sight,
The depth that’s beyond getting just what you asked
Of an infinite God, who makes what you have LAST.

You’d never know, should your pain quickly flee,
What it means that “My grace is sufficient for Thee.”
Yes, your dreams for your loved one overnight would come true,
But, Oh, the Loss!  If I lost what I’m doing in you!

So, be silent, My Child, and in time you will see
That the greatest of gifts is to get to know Me.
And though oft may My answers seem terribly late,
My most precious answer of all is still, “WAIT.”

Author unknown

February 4, 2007 at 6:47 pm 11 comments

Decolonizing the mind

Ngugi‘s The Devil on the Cross (in English, Swahili and Kikuyu) were the earliest of his works for me to devour.

This was to be followed in short order by The River Between, Petals of Blood, A Grain of Wheat, and Detained (where my interest in the life and politics of Raila Odinga would be ignited following Ngugi’s favourable mention of him – I found that strange coming from a non-Luo in the heady and heavily tribalized 1980s and early 1990s…not to say the stigmatization of Luos has ended in our days).

Much later, I would toy around with Ngugi’s literary essays, as I explored his other works, most outstanding of which I would think was Matigari.

While my junior and senior high literature teachers invited me to discover the wealth in Ngugi’s literary world, their history counterparts had no love for the man; these were mostly men and women who had survived the torturous years of the Moi regime and generally felt abandoned by a thinker they had considered one of their own.

Their dualistic, competing visions and interpretations of Ngugi’s legacy often left me confused at that level (high school), though I ended up getting greatly enamoured by Ngugi’s love affair with the Kikuyu language.

And that – I think – would be Ngugi’s greatest gift to me, – the desire to want to think and process issues through the lenses of indigenous African languages while remaining meaningful and relevant in the contemporary world.

That got me thinking about many things, including some fictive work I began working on in my second year in high school (it remains unfinished to date, though).

Specifically, I now wanted to get something written in the 9 or so Kenyan languages I rather like and often play around with; last year, I thought I could open blogs for each one of them.

Well, so much would subsequently happen that I ended up ignoring the project kabisa!

Now, some folks have been asking me to revive one of the blogs I had started – Luhya Dialogues – for purposes of so much in the community, including politicking.

Luhyas – I have heard your cry and not just revived that blog, but also shifted it from blogger to wordpress.

Take control now, it’s yours; mail me anything you have in mind and I’ll post it there.

As for the other tribes, I can do only so much, – so I will want to run any such other blog I open on the same basis as I’m running the Luhya one: yaani, chukueni control.

If someone else starts a blog in any of Kenya’s indigenous languages, I can assure you I’m not going to duplicate such an effort (consider this interesting blog in the KBW family).

On blogs I start, I will want to worry less about your religious, political or any such other persuasion, for as long as your contributions are in good taste.

All this because some high school boy was once inspired by one Ngugi wa Thiong’o.

February 4, 2007 at 6:30 pm Leave a comment


Kenyan Analyst

Recent Posts

February 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Feeds