A hard act to follow

August 20, 2007 at 11:35 am 2 comments

It has been asked before but clearly it still needs to be asked: Is Christian celebrity culture damaging our authenticity?  

Do we grow up wanting to be big-name leaders, writers and such else first and disciples only second? 

That’s a question I grappled with after a friend drew my attention to a trait then observed in me: I was proud! 

In an attempt to contribute to some group discussion, I had ended up being domineering, condescending and petty in it all.  

It’s subtle and often times hard to detect, but I saw glimpses of it in my life once the situations were outlined.  

It is an area for which I had previously sought God’s help – “keep me humble” was my trademark prayer in my teenage and early campus years  – but suddenly found myself off the mark, and woefully so.   

In the process, one of my enduring lines of weaknesses lay bare before me, even as I sought God’s forgiveness and grace:  Knowledge.  

My liking of it, dangerously, has had me on the edge of the temptingly inviting cliff of pride. 

Knowledge, the New Testament teaches us, puffs up pride; love edifies.  

While love edifies, the old man in me will find little comfort in its obscure, weak and humble dispositions that won’t allow my prideful self to show off a thing or two.  

I have hurt myself and other people on this account before; it hurt me to have done it again so brazenly and casually.  

We live in a world that treasures being ahead of the pack, blazing the trail, etc – in such a world, the pressure to show off could never be more nearer; I have been to knowledge’s mountain top, and my eyes have seen the gory, not the glory. 

The tinge of personal superiority that comes with it could boost your ego for some while, but it leaves many a person – believer or not – wounded in its wake.     

The call to worship God with my mind – His call for you to worship Him with your mind – could never be more real and urgent. 

A mind and knowledge that will not submit to Jesus’ constant leadership and lordship cannot claim to be in His employ; it can only be in the use of the Enemy of our souls.   

The pride of life (1 John 2:15-17) that ruined our first parents is not an out-dated wile of the sly one; be on your guard, be sober and alert (1 Peter 5:8). 

Nothing sets a person so much out of the devil’s reach as humility.

For most recent updates on my campaign, click here.

Entry filed under: 2007 General Elections in Kenya, Africa, Jesse Masai, Kenya, Literature, Media, Missions, Personals, Politics, Religion, Society, World. Tags: .

Needed: Presidential debates The Fall of Satan and the Victory of Christ

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TOM  |  August 20, 2007 at 12:28 pm

    I agree,

    You are right on the mark! we are many who need to step on the reverse gear!

    Thanks for highlighting, I believe the Lord God wanted me to read this.

    Glory be to God! may he richly bless you as you continue to be honest!

    Halleluyah! i will also go on my kness!

    Reply
  • 2. KA  |  August 22, 2007 at 10:56 pm

    Karibu!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kenyan Analyst

Recent Posts

August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds


