Discussions with a secular-humanist buddy on Kenya

January 25, 2008 at 12:25 am Leave a comment

My secular-humanist friend John caught up with me a few moments ago. It was our first discussion after nearly 6 months. Excerpts.

JOHN: Thank you for your brilliant blog coverage! I send you my best

ME: hi

JOHN: HI Jesse won’t waste your time just to thank you again this is John Powers

ME: oh, john many days thanks for reading.
How are you these days?
Still seeking faith?

JOHN: lol not really my friend but as best as a secular humanist can I pray for you in Kenya my heart goes out to you

ME: lol

JOHN: and I commend you as a peacemaker

ME: how would you pray without faith? lol

JOHN: well prayer is in some way a negotiation, forgive us as you forgive, so it’s a matter of coming closer to truth grabing it as Ghandi might have said the faith is that there is greater truth but what do I know of truth seeking it yes of course

ME: U need faith. The most difficult thing, someone has said, is for an atheist / secular
humanist to feel the need to thank someone, yet have no one to thank in the first instance.

JOHN: yes there’s something to that and I think that gratitude is a portal for a spiritual life

ME: indeed. What do you make of what you have been reading on my blog?

JOHN: well I like the mix of articles you are providing and of course there’s the context of your decision to run in the first place the government politics are one thing but its the politics of brother to brother that you bring in and that’s where the real change of heart occurs so I like that you are scaling down harsh words and modeling a genuine compassion so that others can find a way to speak with care for one another

ME: wow, such an analysis.

JOHN: I’m an outsider of course but I am trying to follow what people are saying and often it brings tears there is such hurting and lack of vision forward

ME: I hear u

JOHN: but I’m convinced that the way forward begins with “What will happen to the other?”
and I do hear that question being asked

ME: Uhmn.

JOHN: and for Americans that’s the question we need to ask too

ME: A question that finds its roots in the Judeo-Christian ethic of love

JOHN: too much funny business! absolutely but that is not the only stream, love is something we all understand on some level so yes Christians have a unique voice but the mesage can be widely understood, “They shall know us by our deeds”

ME: “U shall know them by their fruits.” – Jesus in the Gospels.

JOHN: yes, lol well I’m a bit rusty

ME: Brush up on it🙂

JOHN: I send you my affections Jesse, peace be with you

ME: Thanks.

JOHN: minor point but I do read and follow what you say

ME: uhmn

JOHN: and know that you are a leader for a better world.

Entry filed under: 2007 General Elections in Kenya, Africa, Culture, Jesse Masai, Kenya, Literature, Media, Missions, Personals, Politics, Religion, Society, World. Tags: .

Optimistic? Yes, but cautious Kenya’s Odinga rules out becoming Kibaki’s PM

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kenyan Analyst

Recent Posts

January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds


