The wounded healer

March 16, 2008 at 10:14 pm 7 comments

Isaiah 54:10

10 Though the mountains be shaken
and the hills be removed,
yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken
nor my covenant of peace be removed,”
says the LORD, who has compassion on you.

A few hours after talking about wounds in my past year, I got a rather timely response in the way of an invitation from a long-time family friend who, together with her kid, is emerging out of the darkest of hours in her life.

It turns out that 2005, 2006 and 2007 were difficult years for every Kenyan she had invited for today’s fellowship / catch-up.

Broken lives, lost testimonies, lost opportunities, etc.

Hers, though, capped it all (the good old Beeb does not come closest to describing what actually happened).

“God gave me a vision there and then.  I saw my husband join God by his side, to great rejoicing in heaven, right there and then,” she says.

And she adds:  “The gunmen wanted to kill me too.  We had been married for only a year, and I was 3 months heavy with this young girl.  They had their guns on me but God restrained them after they had killed my husband.”

The couple were sold out to God.

“God’s love has healed me,” she says, radiantly.

Two years later, God is returning her (and the kid who never saw her father) to the same people who pained her, with a message of forgiveness, reconciliation and hope in Jesus Christ.

I’m typing this to Kirk Franklin’s He’ll take the pain away in the background, with the prayer and hope that I / we can allow God to use my / our broken lives to heal others in His both good and tragic world.

It ain’t easy.

But the promise of Easter reminds me that it is necessary, and possible by His grace.

Entry filed under: 2007 General Elections in Kenya, Africa, Crime, Jesse Masai, Kenya, Literature, Media, Missions, Persecution & Martyrs, Personals, Politics, Prophecy, Religion, Society, World. Tags: .

Am looking for Jesus Take away Jc’s unique claims and Gadaffi will luv Bible

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rodibidably  |  March 16, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    I was checking out your post, and I would like to invite you to post your reply to an open question to all believers, on my blog:
    http://potomac9499.wordpress.com/2008/01/30/an-open-question-to-all-believers/

    I am asking in all sincerity, because I do actually want to understand differing view points, and since you seem certain of your faith, I feel your input would be relevant.

    Thank you in advance.

    Reply
  • 2. Tom  |  March 17, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    My Sister!
    Glory be to God, This is a Testimony direct from the Throne room!

    Rev 12:11…

    ” 11They overcame him
    by the blood of the Lamb
    and by the word of their testimony; ”

    May the Lord HOLY SPIRIT Lead me to find more of His children with such Powerful Testimonies of Love – The Greatest Commandment. Proves the Power of the Blood of the Lamb and the Word of God!

    My Sister, you will be in our Prayers

    Thanks Jesse for this story

    Gottes Segen (God Bless you)

    Reply
  • 3. Gerald  |  March 19, 2008 at 9:22 am

    What a passion for the lost..What a great lesson to learn that even though we loose things that we hold so dear in our lives the Lord will still give us strength to carry on.May the Lord reward greatly and look at you with the eyes of His favour my Sister. Bravo!!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 4. kenya.fm  |  March 19, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    @Rodibidably

    If you wanted to know about me, does it not make sense that you would come to me and ask me about myself, as opposed to you asking other people what they know about me? So, why not go to the source to get the “truth” first hand, about Christ? This is what i suggest you do, then you can make your own judgment:

    (i)Get a Bible ( i can send you one if you like ). I suggest you go for any of these versions: New King James version (NKJV) or New American Standard Bible (NASB) Or New International Version (NIV)

    (ii) Pray this way “Lord Jesus Christ, i do not know whether you are real or fake. I do not know what to believe, but i really want to find out what is the truth. I am going to read the Bible. Show me the truth” or such wording: you get the point.

    (iii)Read the new testament, beginning with the Book Of John. Then Matthew, Luke, Mark, Acts, etc, till the end, if possible. it should taker you just a few days. I suggest you (initially) do not make reference to anyone or any other book trying to explain these texts.

    (iv) Be like a juror. Hear first hand Christ’s arguments about himself that is being presented to you in these texts, and initially ignore any things/ideas/opinions you might have heard from other sources/people/preachers. Once you are done with your reading, you can decide to listen to other arguments against what he said in the texts.

    This is the challenge: if you still do not get to know the “truth”, then you can freely say this Christ thing is all fake. Take my challenge.

    Reply
  • 5. Rodibidably  |  March 20, 2008 at 1:27 am

    kenya.fm,

    I had already replied on my blog where you seem to have posted the same comments, so I won’t bother to rehash them here as well, sufficed to say, you OBVIOUSLY did not read (or comprehend) the entire original post or any of the replies to it.

    Reply
  • 6. kenya.fm  |  March 20, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    @Rodibidably
    Believe me i did. Mine is just one suggested solution and only you know what you reallly want.

    Truth and Faith (unfortunately/fortunately) is not a matter for analysis, but plain old belief.

    Reply
  • 7. Rodibidably  |  March 21, 2008 at 2:43 am

    Kenya,

    Again, playing tag across blogs.

    Your most recent post on my blog seemed to clear up a bit of the misunderstanding, but as I tend to make quite wordy responses, my reply is a bit of a read. Hopefully I think it will clear up some of the confusion and give you a better understanding of my position, and why I was opposed to your post that seemed to be an attempt at converting people who had differing beliefs than your own.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kenyan Analyst

Recent Posts

March 2008
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds


