Learning from MLK

April 4, 2008 at 12:03 am 3 comments

This day, several years ago, MLK was assassinated.

In the days and weeks following the post-poll violence, I wondered how best I could stay engaged with the people in Cherangany and the wider North Rift.

I recalled a few items I had returned with from my student days across the pond, most precious of which are the MLK materials I got after a visit to the MLK centre in Atlanta, Georgia (listen to the powerful introductory audio as the site opens) in early 2004.

I took time off blogging, locked myself in and recorded some radio programmes on my computer (thanks to the little I still recall from my audio production classes at campus and the generous help of Larry) for transmission back home.

The result was some high quality programmes which have been airing on Imani Radio, Kitale, for several weeks now.

Efforts to upload them on this blog have, thus far, remained a pipe dream but hopefully I shall succeed some time.

In my first programme, I hosted a young man whom I put in the dock over the situation then unfolding.

In my next, I hosted a Kikuyu friend who had wavered between RO and MK much of the time, and who also had family and friends in Nyanza and Rift Valley.

The interviews, as a matter of policy, were done in Kiswahili.

I dedicated the following two to lessons we could draw from the I have a dream and I have been to the mountaintop MLK speeches in our own context.

The 15-minutes programme, dubbed Kioo Cha Jamii, has since acquired a life of its own.

I no longer host it, for lack of time.

I have since passed it on to other helpful hands, and I’m looking at ways of decentralizing it further so that it becomes a grass root reference point for sensitivity on discussions on issues that matter to us today.

I’m also weighing how best to sustain it in the longer run – organizations I sought assistance from kept asking me to make formal applications as an NGO entity (I own and desire none).

I have less time for NGO politics; I decided to sacrifice from what I had to get started and going.

Going forward, MLK remains a great inspiration to me, disagree as I do with some aspects of his life and times.

A.O.B:

Pretty soon Hillary Clinton, John McCain and Barack Obama will be participating in a major forum on faith and public policy at my alma mater the across the pond. I so wish I could be there!

Entry filed under: 2007 General Elections in Kenya, Africa, Crime, Culture, Jesse Masai, Kenya, Literature, Media, Missions, Persecution & Martyrs, Personals, Politics, Prophecy, Religion, Society, World. Tags: .

Theodore Aluoch: “What God has told me about Annan deal” The future of freedom in a liberal democracy

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. larrymads  |  April 4, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    ‘…generous help…’ lol. It always looks more like a lazy Sunday afternoon spent doing much more than watching TV.😉

    The sustainability will come through, in its time.

    Reply
  • 2. boyfulan¿  |  April 5, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    cnt say it better. and where did larry sprout out from??

    Reply
  • 3. aggrey bosire  |  February 9, 2012 at 11:47 am

    i wanna join the freemasonry and i love the society so much wow!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kenyan Analyst

Recent Posts

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds


