RIP Judah

November 13, 2008 at 2:38 am 7 comments

The e-mail from my aide in Cherangany was as simple as it was heavy.

My friend Judah had died, it said.

His young widow and child were downcast with sorrow it added.

Judah’s mum, also a widow, was in great sorrow too.

A cellphone number I had come to call often before was provided once again, with a request that I find time to talk to the widow.

Tomorrow, much of my civic ward – comprising such villages as Marura, Chebarus, Orombee, Maili Nane and Sibanga – will burry Judah.

In my attempt for parliament last year, Judah had come out strongly for me, before wavering a little later on.

But we had remained good friends, and I had visited him at home and work in Sibanga not a few times.

Much earlier, he and his dad had electrified my village with basic technology with which they were making instant murusik; we loved that kind of milk to bits!

Judah, my contemporary, struggled with his faith and identity for some long while, but had – towards the end of last year – found consolation in faith with the Anglican Church at Sibanga trading centre.

It is a shame I never honoured his invitation to visit with his congregation and, in particular, the youth ministryhe often talked about.

Apart from murusik and Church, nothing will endear Judah in my memory more than his industrious and pioneering efforts at good maize farming on his parents’ farm as well as basic IT at Sibanga.

Maize farming is a big thing at the place I call home, and those who do it well are widely respected.

His trading stall at Sibanga was one of the few in Cherangany with a PC, and when I visited the center at the beginning of my campaigns, he had been among the few to ask me what I meant by “introducing internet usage” to educated Cherangany youth.

And he also had a few tips for my soul from deep within the campaigns of some of my opponents.

A politician does not get such voters on the trail often.

I will miss him.

Entry filed under: 2007 General Elections in Kenya, Africa, Culture, Economics, HIV / Aids, Jesse Masai, Kenya, Personals, Politics, Religion, Society, World. Tags: .

US mull over November 4, prepares for transition Building The Nation

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. boyfulani.  |  November 13, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    am sorry for your friend man, my sincere sorrows.

    Reply
  • 2. pastor wabule  |  November 13, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    i learned of his death with a lot of sorrow , my friend called me and broke the news to me. we have only one life to live may we live such that when it comes to our dieing time we just go!!.
    POLE SANA

    Reply
  • 3. Benjamin Jancewicz  |  November 15, 2008 at 2:17 am

    Nothing hurts like the sorrow of someone passing that you cannot be near.
    My prayers are with his family and you tonight.

    Reply
  • 4. David Thuku  |  November 19, 2008 at 10:10 am

    Yet another reminder of the brevity of our lives and thus the need to live each day in ways that count and for the ends that make a difference to and for others. May those left behind find solace in God.

    Reply
  • 5. Oliver Omotto Omanyo  |  November 20, 2008 at 10:18 pm

    My deepest condolence to Judah. Sometimes the people we love most are snatched from us but there is always a divine reason beyond our understanding. Leave it all in God’s hands.

    Reply
  • 6. chepkemoi  |  November 23, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    I got the news with great sorrows.God has a purpose for everything

    Reply
  • 7. Tom  |  December 1, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    Sorry too my Bro, I hope all will be well with you all especially your friends’ emediate Family. May the God of Comfort be their Portion. Amen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kenyan Analyst

Recent Posts

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Feeds


