Archive for July 20, 2006

Training to die

*For the few minutes I can spare at this moment in time…this song has been on my mind much of the week, following a session I had before an audience someplace reflecting with it what it might mean to live for Christ in our generation. I will see if I can go into bits of that when I pen down my spiritual autobiography sometime next month as earlier promised.
Composed by: Rev. George Bennard (1913) / Rodeheaver World Music (UK).
Source: Living Praise (Words Edition), Marshall Morgan & Scott (UK, 1983).
1. On a hill far away stood an old rugged cross,

The emblem of suffering and shame;

And I love that old cross where the dearest and best,

For a world of sinners was slain.

So I’ll cherish the old rugged cross

Till my trophies at last I lay down;

I will cling to the old rugged cross

And exchange it someday for a crown.

2. O, the old rugged cross, so despised by the world,

Has a wondrous attraction for me;

For the dear Lamb of God left his glory above

To bear it to dark Calvary.

3. In the old rugged cross, stained with blood so divine,

A wondrous beauty I see;

For ’twas on that old rugged cross Jesus suffered and died,

To pardon and sanctify me.

4. To the old rugged cross I will ever be true,

Its shame and reproach gladly bear;

Then He’ll call me someday to my home far away,

When his glory forever I’ll share.

July 20, 2006 at 11:32 pm 4 comments


Kenyan Analyst

Recent Posts

July 2006
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds